Open Face Turkey Sandwich

I knew when we went to New York City this summer I was going to do one thing.  Eat cheesecake.  A lot of it.

And eat cheesecake I did.  One place I wanted to try cheesecake at was Junior’s.  I would have been happy eating multiple pieces of cheesecake for dinner, but we live in a world where it’s socially unacceptable to do so (some day!).  So when we went there I had to order some kind of dinner.  I ordered a turkey sandwich basically just as a rouse to get to the cheesecake. When I ate it, I was shocked.  It was delicious- which is surprising since I know what I typically like about turkey sandwiches and this did not fit the bill.  I inhaled this sandwich and have been dreaming about it ever since.

This is simple at its best.  Not as good as Junior’s but very delicious.  I guess it just means I have to go back to New York sometime…

OPEN FACE TURKEY SANDWICH
From Cinnamon Freud, Inspired by Junior’s
INGREDIENTS

For the Turkey:
4 ounces of turkey breast/cutlets
Poultry seasoning
Salt and pepper

For the Gravy:
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 tablespoon cornstarch
Poultry seasoning
Salt and pepper

For the Sandwich
2 slices sandwich bread
Cranberry Sauce, optional

DIRECTIONS

For the Turkey:
Slice the turkey in small slices.  Heat a medium skillet over medium heat. Add turkey.  Season with poultry seasoning, salt, and pepper.  Cook until done, about 5-7 minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.

For the Gravy:
In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, bring the chicken stock to a boil.  Mix cornstarch with a little cold water.  Stir cornstarch mixture into chicken stock.  Add poultry seasoning, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 4-8 minutes until thickened.

For the Sandwich:
Put two pieces of bread on a plate.  Top with turkey.  Pour gravy over top.  Top with cranberry sauce if desired.

Leave a Reply

