Raspberry Chocolate Truffle Tart


These tarts are a great summary of my cooking “journey” if you will.  I made these tarts back on a cooking whim about a year ago, back when I wasn’t cooking anything much yet.  This was even my first time using a food processor- I had no idea such a contraption existed before then.  I had no idea back then what I was doing really, and I reread the recipe so many times I’m surprised I didn’t have it memorized.I had lots of problems making them, and they turned out un-picturesque.  But they were delicious.

So I made them again.  This time around they were a piece of cake (piece of tart actually? Har, har). Making these gave me a moment to reflect back.  Although there are still lots of things I haven’t made yet and techniques I haven’t developed, I really have come a far way.

RASPBERRY CHOCOLATE TRUFFLE TART
Adapted slightly from Tyler Florence

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup half and half
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
20-40 chocolate wafer cookies (like Oreos)
4 tablespoons butter, melted
Raspberries

DIRECTIONS

In a small saucepan over low heat, bring the half and half to a simmer.  Put the finely chopped chocolate in a medium bowl.  Pour half and half over top of the chocolate.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Add vanilla extract and stir util smooth.  Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour.  

Meanwhile, in a food processor, process the chocolate wafer cookies until fine crumbs.  You should have about 1- 1 1/2 cups of crumbs.  Mix with melted butter.

Spray a 6 cup muffin tin with cooking spray.  Cut six sheets of wax paper to fit in each cup, leaving overhang.   Press the wafer crumb mixture into the bottoms of each cup to form a crust. Spray a small glass with cooking spray to help press crumbs down. Place a raspberry in the center of each crust.

After sitting at room temperature for an hour, beat the chocolate on medium speed with a hand or stand mixer.  Beat until it thickens and lightens in color.  Spoon chocolate into a large Ziploc bag.  Snip of the end of the bag.
Pipe the chocolate mixture into the crusts over top of the raspberries.  Refrigerate for 2 hours, until firm.  Use the wax overhang to remove the tarts from the muffin top.  Garnish with additional raspberries if desired.

Leave a Reply

