No Turkey Required Stuffing

So, you have my recipe for cranberry sauce already, and now here is another Thanksgiving recipe for all year round: stuffing you can make without a turkey!

In our house there is a strict division between people who like dry stuffing and wet stuffing.  I consider myself a diplomat, as I like both.  Dry stuffing is easy to make on its own without a turkey- just bake it.  Wet stuffing was more elusive: I always thought wet stuffing would be impossible to make without a turkey to stuff it in.

Then one day I decided I was going to make wet stuffing no matter what.  Really, I had made it more difficult in my mind than it actually was.  Just use a slow cooker or bake at a really low temperature and use lots of chicken/turkey stock to keep moist.  It’s not as perfect as if you could stuff a turkey, but even I can’t eat 10 pounds of turkey by myself as hard as I may try.

Make this with some turkey cutlets and cranberry sauce, and you can be like me and have Thanksgiving dinner all year round!

NO TURKEY REQUIRED STUFFING
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

10 slices of bread
Half yellow onion, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
5-7 mushrooms, chopped
1 cup chicken broth,more for desired “wetness”
Butter/ butter spray
Salt, pepper, poultry seasoning to taste

DIRECTIONS

Tear bread into small pieces and place in a crock pot.

In a skillet, melt butter.  Cook onion and celery until soft over low heat, about 5-7 mnutes.  Add mushrooms and season with salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning.  Cook until mushrooms are softened, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Add vegetable mixture to crockpot.  Mix together, adding more salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning.  Add chicken broth slowly, until desired “wetnes” is reached.

Cook on high for 20-30 minutes.  Continue to cook on low for 40-60 minutes.

3 thoughts on “No Turkey Required Stuffing

Leave a Reply

