Cranberry Raspberry Compote Two Ways

I love mixing sweet and savory together.  I love a good tartness with an undertone of sweet.  I love a little pucker in my dinner and my dessert.

This cranberry raspberry compote was perfect for just that.  I ate it on turkey, on sweet corn, and in a graham cracker crust.  It worked all three ways.  You may want to add more sugar for any dessert garnishing if you don’t like the puckery tartness like I do.

I really loved this compote and plan to try it with many things.  I may even add a little lime juice and get a limeade-y type flavor.  Or add some cream cheese to make it creamier.  Possibilities, my friends!

CRANBERRY RASPBERRY COMPOTE
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

2/3 cup frozen raspberries, thawed
1/2 cup cranberry juice
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons moscata white wine
6 teaspoons brown sugar
2  teaspoons cornstarch

DIRECTIONS

In a saucepan, combine raspberries, cranberry juice, balsamic vinegar, wine, and brown sugar.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Let cook for at least 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Mix cornstarch with a little cold water.  Stir cornstarch mixture into raspberry mixture. Serves two ways:

1. Serve warm on top of chicken breast, turkey cutlet, or pork tenderloin.
2.  Spoon into graham cracker crust.  Chill for 30 minutes, top with plenty whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

