Chocolate Fudge

Last year, I went to a peddler’s fair, which is a market-like atmosphere were people sell their homemade items. I had a lot of fun walking around looking at the shops, but my favorite part was of course the food. They had lots of Texas-like food for lunch, but the best part was the fudge shop. Or fudge shoppe, actually.

The owners were making a huge vat of fudge in the back, and I was entranced. The fudge was the best I ever had. It was creamy, soft, and delicious. I missed when the peddler show came back this summer, so I was fudge-less. I decided to try to make some myself but not the quick kind that uses sweetened condensed milk. So I turned to Alton Brown and embarked on my first experience in candy making.

The fudge turned out well. Great texture and flavor. I still swear it wasn’t as good as what I got at the peddler’s show though, so I may have to go back this fall…

CHOCOLATE FUDGE
INGREDIENTS

2 3/4 cups granulated sugar
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
3 tablespoons butter
1 cup half and half
1 tablespoon corn syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

Spray an 8-inch square pan with cooking spray or line with wax paper.

In a saucepan, combine sugar, chocolate, 1 1/2 tablespoons butter, half and half, and corn syrup. Over medium-low heat, stir with a wooden spoon until sugar is dissolved and chocolate has melted. Increase heat to medium-high and bring mixture to a boil.

When the mixture has reached a hard boil, reduce heat to medium-low. Cover and let boil for 3 minutes.

Remove lid and attach a candy thermometer. Continue to cook until thermometer registers 234 °F. Remove from heat and add 1 1/2 tablespoons remaining butter. Do not stir.

Let cool until thermometer registers 110°F. Stir vigorously with wooden spoon until mixture looks matte. Add vanilla extract. Working quickly, add mixture to baking span and smooth. Let cool in a dry area until firm. Remove wax paper and cut into pieces. Store in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

