Cranberry Sauce

No, it’s not Thanksgiving.

But it is September, which means I am already anticipating the holiday season.  I have a great love for the last months of the year.  September, October, November, and December are far superior to February, March, April, and May.

One of my favorite part of this time is Thanksgiving.  I love Thanksgiving food and no longer limit myself to eating it one day a year (although I try not to eat it too much lest I grow tired of it).  My recent favorite of Thanksgiving: cranberry sauce.  I love it on turkey, as a side, or as a main dish for dinner itself.  In fact my love of cranberries has me always checking the freezer aisle to see if frozen cranberries are in stock.

I like it pretty simple (as per mom’s recipe) to let the cranberries shine through.  You can also add some citrus zest to kick it up a notch if you want.

CRANBERRY SAUCE
From My Mom
INGREDIENTS

12 ounces cranberries (about 4 cups)
1 cup water
1 cup sugar

DIRECTIONS

Combine water, and sugar in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to a boil and add cranberries.  Cook until cranberries are softened and begin to pop, about 20-30 minutes.

Remove from heat and transfer to bowl.  Allow to cool to room temperature.  Refrigerate for at least an hour to overnight.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

