Funnel Cake: Secret Recipe Club

8-13 Funnel Cake

Today begins my much needed vacation.  As you read this, I am probably high in the sky, making my way out of Texas.  Ahhh…feels wonderful.  I will fill you all in on my oodles and oodles of fun soon.

Vacations make me very happy.  What else makes me happy?  Funnel cake.

Nothing stands in the way between me and my funnel cake.

If that distinctive sweet, fried smell of funnel cake wafts over to me and hits my nostrils, I become a woman with a mission.  Must find funnel cake.  And when I see the stand selling funnel cake, I become a pointer dog, fixated on my goal.

Shoving money at the vendor, I will anxiously and impatiently wait as they fry up my treat.  When they hand me that fried, doughy goodness on a white paper plate (always) topped with a mountain on powdered sugar, I will promptly dig in. And I will promptly get powdered sugar all over myself. #notcocainejustpowderedsugar

Happiness is a freshly made funnel cake.

So when this month’s Secret Recipe Club came around and I was assigned It’s Yummy to my Tummy‘s blog and saw a homemade recipe for funnel cake, I was in.  All in.

Homemade funnel cake in my own kitchen? Right now pleaseandthankyou.

HOMEMADE FUNNEL CAKE
From It’s Yummy to my Tummy

INGREDIENTS

1 egg
2/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
Oil, for frying
Water, to thin out the batter
Powdered sugar, for serving

DIRECTIONS

Fill deep skillet or pot with 3-5 inches of oil.  Heat oil to 375°F.

In a small bowl, whisk egg and milk together. In a separate bowl, combine sugar, flour, salt, and baking powder.  Whisk egg and milk mixture into your dry ingredients.  Add additional water if needed to thin out the.  The batter should be easily pourable.

Hold a funnel over the hot oil.  Pour a small amount of the batter into the funnel, moving to make a web pattern.  Fry 1-3 minutes per side, until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels for 1-2 minutes.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar and consume immediately.  Repeat with remaining batter.

10 thoughts on “Funnel Cake: Secret Recipe Club

  1. These were my favorite thing to buy on the boardwalk in Atlantic City. I’ve never tried them at home. Now I have no excuse not to! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

